## TACSM MAJORS OF THE YEAR

TACSM would like to recognize an outstanding undergraduate student in exercise science from each of the undergraduate degree granting institutions in Texas for the 2024-25 academic year. These students will be recognized as the TACSM Major of the Year from their respective institutions. Formal recognition will be made at the 2025 TACSM Annual Meeting. To this end, TACSM is asking each college/university to select a student as its TACSM Major of the Year and forward their name to TACSM.

Submission and Pre-registration Deadline: January 24, 2025

## **Eligibility Requirements-**

- 1. Student must be a member of TACSM in good standing (1<sup>st</sup> year free membership or paid renewal) as of January 24, 2025.
- 2. Student must be pre-registered to attend the 2025 TACSM Annual Meeting no later than January 24, 2025. Failure to pre-register will result in your name being withdrawn without recognition.
- 3. Student must be currently enrolled junior or senior at a college/university in Texas during the current academic year.
- 4. Student must have a declared major in exercise science or a related field.
- 5. Student must have at least a 3.0/4.0 cumulative GPA.

## **Submission Process-**

In January 2025, the TACSM Executive Director will contact either the department chair and/or a TACSM representative at each university in Texas and ask them for the name of the student that they would like to represent their university as the 2025 TACSM Major of the Year.

- 1. It is the responsibility of the nominator to inform the student that they must be pre-registered for the 2025 Annual Meeting.
- 2. No additional documentation will be required other than the student's name, which will be printed in the meeting materials.
- 3. Departments should only nominate students who they know will be able to attend the 2025 TACSM Annual Meeting.
- 4. Students who fail to attend the annual meeting will be emailed an electronic copy of their certificate.

Submissions directly from students will <u>not</u> be accepted. Please submit nominees to <u>Dr. Ariane</u> <u>Secrest</u>, <u>TACSM Associate Executive Director</u>